Knowing the Shepherd ! / Shakespeare .


In a banquet ,the host invited a Shakespearean actor to entertain the guests by reciting passages from Shakespeare’s plays.The Actor was asked by an older priest  to recite the 23rd. Psalm .The actor agreed ,but in return he wanted the priest to recite the Psalm too.

When the actor finished the reciting the audience applauded him for his eloquent act.Then the priest graciously began to recite the 23rd.Psalm.

” The Lord is my Shepherd ,

There is nothing l shall want.

He lets me lie down in green pasture.

He leads me beside peaceful waters.

He restores my soul.

He guides me along the way of righteousness ,

As befits his name.

Even though l walk through the valley of the shadow of death,

I will not be afraid .For the Lord is at my side.

His rod and his staff comfort and protect me.

He prepare a table for me in the presence of my enemies.

He anoints my head with oil ,

My cup overflows Surely goodness and mercy will follow me,

All the days of my life and l will live in the house of the Lord forever.”

The audience were completely silent .No sound could be heard in the banquet.

The Actor stood and said  .”I knew the psalm l recited, but the priest knows the Shepherd “.

Jalal Michael Sabbagh-https://mysuccessisyoursuccess.wordpress.com

 

6 thoughts on “Knowing the Shepherd ! / Shakespeare .

    • jmsabbagh January 15, 2016 / 3:47 pm

      Thank you for your nice comment.

  1. quiall January 15, 2016 / 12:47 pm

    We all know the words. One day we will meet the Shepherd.

    • jmsabbagh January 15, 2016 / 3:49 pm

      l appreciate your comment.Regerds

Leave a Reply

